12 - 4 h h dd Barada B. Barana ann ann	
UNIVERSITY OF	
FAIRBA HIM N	

## UAF FACULTY SENATE

3	312 <b>8</b>		
	www.ugEequiv		
MERAZ	and 1 7 13 3 3		
TO			
TO:	Stove Adwards, Internet Leone States		
	Doug Geeting Provincial States		
	Suzan Hainn Ing in The State of the	anti-anti-anti-anti-anti-anti-anti-anti-	All the second
	Mark L		
	Paul Luyu		
	(		
FROM			
		/ /	
DATE:			
DATE			
SUBIE	and the second		
	•		
Gummin			
tiain inc.			
	Come in the second s	in the second	
	an a state of the second s		NUMBER OF STREET, STREET, ST. AND ADDREET,
fiolininate	ted for positions on the		
an <mark>a abie</mark>			
	in <u>and and a subscription of the subscription</u>		
Your coop	operation and a second s		
contact			
http://www			
Attacher			
	UAF Forwity Constant Contractions There		
	Faculty Second Vorter Martine		
	CNSMLCK Cond Librarias		

## cc: Susan Henricht Plantin Plantin Plantin

Larry Hinas and Long a
Evon Peter, Vice Chancellor, CBCD, and the second
Facurty Still Andread and A

# Guidance on Faculty Senate Elections 201

- Elections and election procedures are the responsibility of the units, subject to the Bylaws of the Faculty Senate S Bylaws are posted at: <u>http://www.uaf.edu/uafgov/facultsenate/about/</u>
- 2) The Dean/Director's office is expected to administer the elect(Ansummary sheet of senate positions and vacancies specific to each unit has been included with the election memo and attachments.)
- 3) The Dean/Director may not "appoint" anyone to the Faculty Senate; this is the

## **Faculty Senate Elections Spring 2017**

#### COLLEGE OF NATURAL SCIENCE AND MATHEMATICS (CNSM) TERMS & VACANCIES Representation: 7 senators and 4 alternates.

### Current representation with expiring terms bolded:

### **College of Natural Sciences & Mathematics**

Representatives	Alternates
Donie Bret-Harte (17)	Bernie Coakley (17)
Stefanie Ickert-Bond (18)	Larry Duffy (17)
Roman Makarevich (18)	Javier Fochesatto (18)
David Maxwell (18)	Gordon Williams (18) – Vacancy;
Franz Meyer (17)	GW filled seat vacated by Lisa Lunn
Rainer Newberry (17)	(assuming Lisa's term).
Gordon Williams (17)	

At the end of this year CNSM will have 3continuing senators and 2 continuing alternates. Both senate terms and alternate terms should be staggered. Ideally, 3-4 senators and at least 2 alternates should be elected each year.

### Senator terms expiring at last Senate Meeting in May 2017:

Donie Bret-Harte Franz Meyer Rainer Newberry Gordon Williams (he assumed Lisa Lunn's term when appointed to fill that vacated seat)

### Alternate terms expiring at last Senate Meeting in May 2016:

Bernie Coakley Larry Duffy (senate term only; Permanent committee terms are independent) Vacant seat for one-year term (created when Gordon W. filled Lisa Lunn's seat)

#### **Please elect:**

4 senators for 2-year terms (2017-2019) 2 alternates for 2-year terms (2017-2019) 1 alternate for a 1-year term (2017-2018)

\_\_\_\_\_

#### Please note with regard to the attached table of Permanent Committees: Also note that Faculty on Permanent committees do not need to be Senators.

On the **Student Academic Development and Achievement Committee**, both the Math and Science terms, filled by Jill Faudree and Bill Howard, will be expired in May 2017. Please elect replacements for 2017-2019 terms.

On the **Core Review Committee**, the Math term, filled by Margaret Short, expires in May 2017. Please elect a replacement for a 2017-2019 term. (Larry Duffy's committee term goes through May 2018.)